DIFFERENT COUNTRY, DIFFERENT SYSTEM

Hi everyone! This Monday, we post “KOREAN EDUCATION SYSTEM” interview in Different Country, Different System session. Mrs. Helen did an interview with Diana.

“My name is Diana and I live in South Korea. I am not a university student, yet. But I will go this year (2017). I applied to a school (mechanical engineering)

I didn’t learn English when I went kindergarten, I just started to study English when I was 8-9 in English academy (it is like a language course which I went after school.) and school. In that time, I just memorized English words and learned how to speak English (like basic conversation) and when I went middle school and high school, I learned English grammar for Korean CSAT. I think that is why I cannot speak English. They worry about their grammar unnecessarily,much. I think that teaching way was wrong. By the way, all of my English teachers spoke native English.

We take 5-6 hours in a week, in school.

Home works were just like after reading an English text, check the answer or memorizing vocabulary.

We never had a writing or speaking activity, in high school.Not watch a video, not listened to a song.I think such kind of activities are effective. But that didn’t happen in my classroom. It is not necessary in CSAT*.So,they don’t teach how to write and speak.

When I was primary and middle school, government gave us the course books. But I bought myself when I was in high school.

They teach English for CSAT. It is the biggest mistake in our education system. They should stop it and should teach speaking and writing as an effective way.”

CSATCollege Scholastic Ability Test or CSAT  is a type of standardized test accepted by South Korean universities. It was made official in 1994. CSAT is managed by the Korea Institute of Curriculum and Evaluation.The test is offered every November, but the exact dates may annually change. CSAT plays an important role in the education in South Korea.It is commonly believed that the CSAT will determine which university the student will enter. CSAT is even described as ‘the chance to make or break one’s future.’ Of the students taking the test, the percentage of re-takers are about 20%.

 

education-in-korea-ppt-6-728.jpg

Leave a Reply

